Skip to main content

25 more Massachusetts elected officials back Sonia Chang-Díaz for Governor

Press ReleaseMar 23, 2022

BOSTON, MA - State Senator Sonia Chang-Díaz announced 25 new endorsements from state and local elected officials in her campaign for Massachusetts Governor today. The new slate expands the campaign’s coalition of endorsers to a total of 80 elected officials, including state lawmakers, city councilors, and school committee members spanning across the Commonwealth. 

Chang-Díaz has also earned endorsements from racial justice leaders throughout the state, the national progressive group People’s Action, and statewide grassroots organizations Progressive Mass and Neighbor to Neighbor, which have thousands of members in chapters across Massachusetts.

“Sonia’s building a winning coalition for working people across Massachusetts — and we’re building momentum all across the state,” said Joshua Wolfsun, Chang-Díaz’s Campaign Manager. “Sonia has been excited to show up on the campaign trail all across our state and throughout her career, she’s been proud to partner with local leaders and community groups to take on tough fights on Beacon Hill, even when it was politically hard. It’s clear what she stands for, and these leaders know she’ll deliver bold, transformational change as Governor.”

The new endorsers say they’re backing Chang-Díaz for her work on Beacon Hill to win progressive change with an eye towards equity and for her willingness to engage her campaign across the state.

“Sonia has the bold vision we need in Massachusetts’ next Governor. Her state-level Green New Deal plan will combat climate change while creating clean green jobs and her education platform will deliver debt-free education and universal child care,” Steve Owens, State Representative, 29th Middlesex. “Sonia will continue to address our state’s most urgent issues head on. I’m proud to endorse her, and I look forward to fighting alongside her for the change working people need.”

"I strongly endorse Sonia Chang-Diaz for Governor. She is a terrific listener, deeply concerned for the needs of Attleboro and all the rest of our Bay State cities and towns,” said Ty Waterman, Attleboro City Councilor. “She is particularly sensitive to the educational deficits of cities like Attleboro, ready to redirect the state funding formula to help our neediest communities, and work tirelessly so all of our citizens, including children and seniors, are given every chance to succeed in life."

“I support Sonia because she is a fierce advocate for educational equity — ensuring that all of our children have the best school experience to meet their future has always been of paramount importance. This includes students with disabilities, students of color, LGBTQ students, English language learners, and those students from lower-income households and under-resourced communities,” said Kelly Cobb-Lemire, Braintree School Committee Member. “As Governor, Sonia will continue to fight for working-class families all across Massachusetts.”

“Sonia has been delivering for our youth and working people on Beacon Hill for over a decade. She’s who we need as our next Governor to tackle housing, transportation, public health, the climate crisis, and racial equity,” said Himaja Najireddy, Acton Select Board Member. “I’m thrilled to endorse her as Massachusetts’ next Governor.”

The slate of new endorsers includes:

  • Steve Owens, State Representative, 29th Middlesex

  • Coco Alinsug, Lynn City Councilor

  • Shane Burgo, New Bedford City Councilor

  • Caroline Bays, Watertown City Councilor

  • Kyra Cook, Acton Select Board Member

  • Maria De la Cruz, Lawrence City Councilor

  • Ben Ewen-Campen, Somerville City Councilor

  • Paul Glavey, Littleton Select Board Member

  • Tristan LaLiberte, Auburn Select Board Member

  • Enio Lopez, Chelsea City Councilor 

  • Himaja Najireddy, Acton Select Board Member

  • Tony Palomba, Watertown City Councilor

  • JT Scott, Somerville City Councilor

  • Damali Vidot, Chelsea City Councilor

  • Ty Waterman, Attleboro City Councilor 

  • Ryan Williams, Melrose City Councilor

  • Jake Wilson, Somerville City Councilor 

  • Kelly Cobb-Lemire, Braintree School Committee Member

  • Tiffany Magnolia, Lynn School Committee Member 

  • Joyce Reischutz, Shirley School Committee Member

  • Lenin Roa, Lawrence School Committee Member

  • Tony Rodrigues, Brockton School Committee Member

  • Emily Serafy-Cox, Northampton School Committee Member

  • Vicky Smith, Pittsfield School Committee Member

  • Denise Spencer, Franklin School Committee Member